1895 – Polaire's first visit to New York
Translated from French by Ms Rita Lamb

1895 – Premier séjour de Polaire à New York
 Lisez cette page en Français





This work 1895 – Polaire first visit to New York
by Polaire-1900.com is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.0 France License

Like almost all those who are interested in or have written about Polaire, we have always believed that she went to New York for the first time in 1910, arriving on June 4 aboard the transatlantic La Savoie and returning to France on August 2 aboard the Kaiser Wilhelm II.

But in October 2010 we received an email from a Ms Rita Lamb in which she asked us if we had information on a stay Polaire might have made in New York in 1895. Attached to this email was an article from The New York Times dated October 15, 1895.

The New York Times – October 15, 1895

Proctor's Pleasure Palace. – « [...] Mlle. Polaire, the French singer, has become a great favorite at this house, and yesterday she sang some new songs, which were thoroughly appreciated by the large audience present. »

In her email, Ms. Lamb pointed out that «[in] editions of The New York Times there are several brief references to the appearance of an entertainer called "Mlle Polaire"». And indeed, after searching on the site of the U.S. daily, we found six articles mentioning a singer named Polaire.

The first is the one we have quoted above. The second, dated October 20 1895, states only that in addition to "Weber & Fields's company [which] will appear at Proctor's Pleasure Palace this week
[...] [there] will be George Lockhart's comic elephant, Mlle. Polaire, the French singer; the daring Zalva trio...".

On October 27, 1895, Polaire is mentioned again briefly:

The New York Times – October 27, 1895

Proctor's Pleasure Palace – « George Lockhart's performing elephants continue their wonderful performances at Proctor's Pleasure Palace. Other foreign importations on the bill are the Zalvas and Mlle. Polaire, who has become a great favorite with the audiences. »

On November 5, 1895, a journalist from The New York Times writes that "se-veral favorites [of the Proctor's Pleasure Palace] remain over. The new French singer, Mlle. Polaire, is one of them."

In its edition of November 17, 1895, The New York Times tells us that Polaire has moved from the Proctor's Pleasure Palace venue to that of Koster & Bial's. «This Week at Koster & Bial's the new features of the programme will include the first public appearance in America of Lorenz and Kennedy, in their "mysterious mental telegraphy," and the first appearance here [at Koster & Bial's] of Mlle Polaire, "chanteuse excentrique". (1) »

(1) In French in the text

The New York Times dated November 19, 1895, mentions Polaire again. She is described by the journalist as "one of those Parisian importations".

The New York Times – November 19, 1895

Koster & Bial's – «Mlle. Polaire was a new performer. She is one of those Parisian importations known as "chanteuses eccentri-ques (sic)." Everybody who has been in the up-to-date New-York music halls knows what this means.»

Although these articles seemed to indicate quite strongly that Polaire had visited the U.S. in 1895, we believed it was necessary to find another source to confirm it. One could not totally exclude, for example, an error in article indexing – even if it seemed to us highly unlikely from an institution as vene-rable as The New York Times.

And after a fairly lengthy search, we found an article published in The Daily Times (New Brunswick, N.J.) dated October 10, 1895 (i.e. five days prior to the first of the six articles in The New York Times) in which the following passage confirms, without doubt, that the artist in question is indeed Polaire:

The Daily Times – October 10, 1895

Proctor's Pleasure Palace, New York – «The American debut of M'lle (sic) Polaire was immensely successful. She is a petite and piquant chanteuse, possessing the great charm and so popular in Paris that for two years she was starred equally with Yvette Guilbert at the El Dorado (sic).»

So, Polaire actually made her "American debut" at Proctor's Pleasure Palace. And since The Daily Times was dated Thursday, October 10, we may sup-pose she had sung there for the first time the previous day, that is to say on Wednesday, October 9, 1895.

However we have since found a further article in The New York Times, dated October 8, 1895, in which the journalist writes about new artists on stage the previous evening at Proctor's Pleasure Palace. Among them is Polaire. She therefore sang there for the first time on October 7, 1895.
Let us add that the description of Polaire's waist – "her waist was hardly more than a good span" (2) – finally lays to rest any doubts we might have had on the identity of the singer in question.

(2) Width from the tip of the thumb to the tip of the little finger when the hand is fully spread (about nine inches)

The New York Times – October 8, 1895

Proctor's Pleasure Palace – Nearly the entire bill offered last night at Proctor's Pleasure Palace, in Fifty-Eighth Street, near Lexington Avenue, was new. [...]
A French singer, new to this city, appeared in Mlle. Polaire. Her skirt was an object of feminine admiration, her hair a study in confusion, and her waist was hardly more than a good span. Her songs were not all fresh, but she gave them a turn quite original and pleasing. Evidently she will find her stay here agreeable.
»

Some time before we received Ms. Lamb's email we had contacted an Ame-rican collector, a friend of our site, and offered to buy from her an American cabinet card she owned. This offer she was kind enough to accept.

We sent a scan of this card to Mrs Lamb, and she was able to inform us that the author of this Polaire photograph was Napoleon Sarony, an American photographer best known for his numerous portraits of late-19th century Ame-rican theatre celebrities. He is also the author of many portraits of Mark Twain and Sarah Bernhardt.
Sarony's studio was located 37 Union Square in New York, so very likely it was in this very studio that Polaire posed for him.

But one detail in the biography of Napoleon Sarony particularly caught our attention. This was the date of his death, which occurred on November 9, 1896 – that is to say, one year after the publication of the New York Times articles we have quoted.

It means, firstly, that the cabinet card is conclusive evidence that Polaire was indeed in New York in 1895. But it is also an exceptional testimony of her first stay in this city. Polaire was then aged 21.

Any doubts we had on the reality of Polaire's first stay in New York being now cleared up, one question remains which we are unable to answer: how is it that none of the many documents of the time we know of devoted to Polaire mention this first visit?




Polaire by Napoléon Sarony – October 1895

PolaireOctobre 1895
Photographed in New York by
Napoléon Sarony


We consider, for example, the many articles published in France in 1910, in numerous newspapers and periodicals, on what appeared to be her very first trip to New York. No journalist mentions any prior visit she had made there, and Polaire herself, who speaks of this (second) stay in many interviews, never mentions it either.

We must also bear in mind, of course, Polaire's autobiography, published in 1933. The New York visit that she evokes is that of 1910: "[...] the American impresario Maurice Gezt came to offer me a very interesting contract for the Hamestein (sic) Theatres, in New York ... "(3). And a little further on: "Ah! the arrival in New York! The famous Statue of Liberty struck me as looking like a welcoming hostess... "(4). Nothing in these lines indicates she had already traveled to New York fifteen years earlier. On the contrary, everything bears out the impression that, with some amazement, she was discovering this city for the first time.

(3) Polaire par elle-même, page 187
(4) Ibid, page 188

Of course, this second visit was surrounded by much greater publicity than the first, both in New York (where the posters designed by William Hammerstein presented her as "the ugliest woman in the world") and in France. But one would have thought that her first taste of this city in 1895, when she was 21 years old - and she had arrived in France only five years earlier - would have deserved at least a mention in her autobiography.

The New York Times articles published in 1910 also do not refer to any previous stay by Polaire in New York. But it is of course possible that their authors were not aware of it. And the fact that Polaire herself does not mention it to the American journalists who interviewed her is probably less surprising than the fact that she also does not mention it in Polaire par elle-même. It is quite conceivable that William Hammerstein asked her not to do so, so as not to interfere with the sensational nature of the advertising campaign he had orchestrated before her arrival. Talking about her earlier trip to New York would have punctured the unique eclat of what was in reality merely her second visit to the city.

So it was at Proctor's Pleasure Palace in New York, on Monday October 7, 1895 that Polaire sang for the very first time on an American stage. The hall, located East 58th Street between Third and Lexington Avenues, had opened a month earlier, on September 2, 1895 (Labor Day).

Proctor's, of "colossal" dimensions, had required an investment of one million dollars from its director, Frederick Freeman Proctor, and (according to The Daily Times of October 10, 1895) could "[rival] in every way the great music halls of London".

The New-York Daily Tribune had announced, in its edition of October 6, 1895, that "[the] American debut of Mlle. Polaire occurs tomorrow" and that she had previously been engaged only once to perform abroad, "and that was in St. Petersburg".

New-York Daily Tribune – October 6, 1895

New-York Daily Tribune October 6, 1895

« The American debut of Mlle. Polaire occurs to-morrow. She is said to possess great charm. Heretofore she has played but one engagement outside Paris, and that was in St. Petersburg. »

A month later The New York Times, in its edition dated Sunday, November 3, 1895, gives the names of the artists who will still be performing on stage at Proctor's the following week (that is to say, probably, until Saturday November 9): "Mlle. Polare (sic), who is soon to return to the Folies Bergere in Paris" is one of them. Polaire had therefore been performing for four weeks at Proctor's Pleasure Palace.

But she did not in fact return to Paris then, and on November 10, 1895, The New York Times informs us that she is now singing at Proctor's Theatre:

The New York Times – November 10, 1895

Proctor's Theatre – « In Mlle. Polaire, the piquant Parisian ; Billie Barlowe, the Briton, and Maud Raymond, the New-Yorker, the audiences at Proctor's Theatre in West Twenty-third Street will find this week three contrasting types of music hall singers, each quite representative in her way. »

Proctor's Theatre in 1893

Proctor's Theatre in 1893
141 West Twenty-third Street, New York

Polaire sang there only a week and The New York Times dated November 17 tells us that the following week (from 18th) she would be singing at Koster & Bial's. We have also found two small advertisements for this theatre published in two issues of The Sun dated 17 and 24 November, 1895, on which the name Polaire appears (Mlle. Polaire on the first one, Polaire alone on the second).

Advertisement in The Sun – Novembre 17, 1895

Advertisement published in The Sun Novembre 17, 1895

Advertisement in The Sun – Novembre 24, 1895

Advertisement published in The SunNovembre, 24 1895

The last mention of Polaire we have found in an American daily newspaper of 1895 is another advertisement in The New York Daily Tribune dated November 26, 1895. Polaire seems to have sung two weeks only at Koster & Bial's, pro-bably until November 30, 1895, probably returning to France in early December.

Her stay in New York had lasted almost two months.


L'intégralité de ce site (textes et images numériques) est © www.polaire-1900.com 2006-2016

1895 – Premier séjour de Polaire à New York

1895 – Polaire's first visit to New York  
Read this page in English



Licence Creative Commons

Cette page 1895 – Premier séjour de Polaire à New York
by Polaire-1900.com est mise à disposition selon les termes de la licence Creative Commons Paternité-Pas d'Utilisation Commerciale-Pas de Modification 2.0 France

Nous avons toujours pensé, comme pratiquement tous ceux qui s'intéressent ou ont écrit sur Polaire, qu'elle s'était rendue pour la première fois à New York en 1910. Elle y était arrivée le 4 juin à bord du transatlantique La Savoie et en était repartie le 2 août à bord du Kaiser Wilhelm II.

Mais, en octobre 2010, nous avons reçu un mail de Mme Rita Lamb dans lequel elle nous demandait si nous avions des informations sur un séjour que Polaire aurait fait à New York en 1895. En pièce jointe de ce mail se trouvait un article du New York Times daté du 15 octobre 1895.

The New York Times - 15 octobre 1895

Proctor's Pleasure Palace. – « [...] Mlle. Polaire, la chanteuse française, est devenue une grande favorite de cette salle, et elle a chanté hier de nouvelles chansons qui ont été grandement appréciées par les nombreux spectateurs présents. »

Dans son mail, Mme Lamb nous précisait que « [in] editions of the New York Times there are several brief references to the appearance of an entertainer called "Mlle Polaire" ». Et en effet, après recherche sur le site du quotidien américain, nous avons trouvé six articles dans lesquels il est question d'une chanteuse nommée Polaire.

Le premier est celui que nous avons cité plus haut. Le second, qui est daté du 20 octobre 1895, indique seulement qu'en plus de la compagnie Weber and Field's
« qui se produira au Proctor's Pleasure Palace cette semaine », « il y aura les éléphants comiques de George Lockhart, Mlle. Polaire, la chanteuse française ; l'audacieux trio Zalva... ».

Le
27 octobre 1895, Polaire est de nouveau mentionnée brièvement :

The New York Times - 27 octobre 1895

Proctor's Pleasure Palace – « Les éléphants savants de George Lockhart continuent leurs merveilleuses performances au Proc-tor's Pleasure Palace. Les autres importations étrangères à l'af-fiche sont les Zalva et Mlle. Polaire, qui est devenue une grande favorite du public. »

Le 5 novembre 1895, le journaliste du New York Times écrit que plusieurs favoris » du Proctor's Pleasure Palace continuent à s'y produire. « La nouvelle chanteuse française, Mlle. Polaire, est [l'un d'eux]. »

Dans son édition du 17 novembre 1895, le New York Times nous apprend que Polaire est passée de la scène du Proctor's Pleasure Palace à celle de Koster & Bial's : « Cette semaine au Koster & Bial's les nouvelles vedettes au programme incluront la première apparition publique en Amérique de Lorenz et Kennedy avec leur "mystérieuse télégraphie mentale", et la première appari-tion ici [au Koster & Bial's] de Mlle. Polaire, "chanteuse excentrique". (1) »

(1) En français dans le texte.

Le New York Times daté du
19 novembre 1895 parle de nouveau de Polaire que le journaliste présente comme une « importation parisienne » :

The New York Times - 19 novembre 1895

Koster & Bial's« Mlle. Polaire était une nouvelle artiste [sur la scène de Koster & Bial's]. Elle est l'une de ces importations pa-risiennes connues en tant que "chanteuses excentriques." Tous ceux qui sont allés dans les music-halls à la mode de New-York savent ce que cela signifie. »

Même si ces différents articles semblaient bien indiquer que Polaire s'était rendue aux Etats-Unis en 1895, il nous a semblé nécessaire de trouver une autre source qui le confirmait. Car nous ne pouvions totalement exclure, par exemple, une erreur d'indexation des articles en question. Même si elle nous semblait être hautement improbable, venant d'une aussi vénérable institution que le New York Times.

Et après d'assez longues recherches, nous avons trouvé un article publié dans The Daily Times (New Brunswick, N.J.) daté du 10 octobre 1895 (donc anté-rieur de cinq jours au premier des six articles du New York Times), dans lequel le passage qui suit confirme, sans aucun doute, que l'artiste dont il est question est bien Polaire :

The Daily Times - 10 octobre 1895

Proctor's Pleasure Palace, New York – « Les débuts américains de Mlle Polaire ont été un immense succès. C'est une chan-teuse petite et piquante, possédant beaucoup de charme et si populaire à Paris que pendant deux ans elle était à l'affiche de l'Eldorado à égalité avec Yvette Guilbert. »

Polaire a donc fait ses « débuts américains » au Protor's Pleasure Palace. Et l'article du Daily Times étant daté du jeudi 10 octobre, nous pouvions penser qu'elle y avait chanté pour la première fois la veille, c'est-à-dire le mercredi 9 octobre 1895.

Mais nous avons ensuite trouvé un
« nouvel » article du New York Times daté du 8 octobre 1895 dans lequel il est question des nouveaux artistes proposés la veille à l'affiche du Proctor's Pleasure Palace. Parmi eux, Polaire, qui y a donc chanté pour la première fois le 7 octobre 1895.
Ajoutons que la description de la taille de Polaire,
« her waist was hardly more than a good span » (voir la traduction ci-dessous) lève les ultimes doutes que nous aurions pu avoir sur l'identité de la chanteuse dont il est question.

The New York Times - 8 octobre 1895

Proctor's Pleasure Palace – « La nuit dernière, presque tous les noms proposés à l'affiche du Proctor's Pleasure Palace, dans la 58ème rue, près de Lexington Avenue, étaient nouveaux. [...].
Une chanteuse française, nouvelle dans cette ville, est apparue sous le nom de Mlle Polaire. Sa jupe a été un objet d'admiration féminine, ses cheveux un modèle de confusion, et sa taille était à peine plus qu'un empan
(2). Ses chansons n'étaient pas tou-tes des nouveautés, mais elle les a interprétées de manière tout à fait originale et plaisante. De toute évidence elle trouvera agré-able son séjour ici. »

(2) Distance comprise entre l'extrémité du pouce et celle du petit doigt très écartés (de 22 à 24 cm). Grand Larousse en 5 volumes (1991)

Quelques temps avant que nous recevions le mail de Mme Lamb, nous avions contacté une collectionneuse américaine amie de notre site pour lui proposer de lui acheter une cabinet card américaine faisant partie de sa collection. Ce qu'elle a eu la gentillesse d'accepter.

Nous avons fait suivre un scan de cette carte à Mme Lamb qui nous a appris que l'auteur de cette photographie de Polaire était Napoléon Sarony, un pho-tographe américain connu en particulier pour ses nombreux portraits des célé-brités du théâtre américain de la fin du 19ème siècle. Il est également l'auteur de nombreux portraits de Mark Twain et de Sarah Bernhardt.
Le studio de Napoléon Sarony était situé 37 Union Square à New York et c'est donc très certainement dans ce studio que Polaire a posé.

Mais un élément de la biographie de Napoléon Sarony a particulièrement retenu notre attention. C'est la date de sa mort, le 9 novembre 1896. Soit un an après la publication des articles du New York Times dont nous venons de parler.

Car cela signifie tout d'abord que cette carte constitue une preuve irréfutable que Polaire s'est bien produite à New York en 1895. Mais également qu'elle est un témoignage exceptionnel de son premier séjour dans cette ville. Polaire était alors âgée de 21 ans.

 




Polaire – Cliché Napoléon Sarony – Octobre 1895

PolaireOctobre 1895
Photographiée à New York par
Napoléon Sarony


Mais les doutes que nous pouvions avoir sur la réalité de ce premier séjour de Polaire à New York étant selon nous levés, il subsiste une question à laquelle nous sommes incapables de répondre, qui est la suivante : comment se fait-il qu'aucun des très nombreux documents d'époque consacrés à Polaire que nous connaissons ne mentionne ce premier séjour ?

Nous pensons, par exemple, aux articles publiés en France en 1910 dans de nombreux journaux et périodiques sur ce qui semblait être son premier séjour à New York. Aucun journaliste ne mentionne un précédent séjour qu'elle y aurait fait. Et Polaire elle-même, qui raconte ce (second) séjour dans de nombreux entretiens, n'en parle pas davantage.

Mais nous pensons également, bien sûr, à l'autobiographie de Polaire, publiée en 1933. Le séjour à New York qu'elle y évoque est celui de 1910 :
«
[...] l'im-presario américain Maurice Gezt était venu m'offrir pour les Théâtres Hamestein (sic), à New York, un contrat des plus avantageux... » (3). Et un peu plus loin : « Ah ! cette arrivée à New-York ! La fameuse statue de la Liberté me fit d'abord l'effet de la bonne hôtesse... » (4). Rien n'indique dans ces lignes qu'elle s'était déjà rendue à New York quinze ans plus tôt. Tout accrédite au contraire l'idée qu'elle découvrait cette ville, avec un certain émerveillement.

(3) Polaire par elle-même, page 187
(4) Ibid, page 188

Bien sûr, ce second séjour fut entouré d'une bien plus grande publicité que le premier. Et cela aussi bien à New York (où les affiches imaginées par William Hammerstein la présentaient comme étant "la femme la plus laide du monde") qu'en France. Mais nous aurions pu penser que sa découverte de cette ville en 1895, alors qu'elle n'avait que 21 ans (et alors qu'elle n'était arrivée en France que cinq ans plus tôt), aurait mérité à ses yeux qu'elle l'évoque dans son auto-biographie.

Les articles du New York Times publiés en 1910 n'évoquent pas non plus un précédent séjour de Polaire à New York. Mais il possible que leurs auteurs n'en aient pas eu connaissance. Et le fait que Polaire ne l'ait pas mentionné aux journalistes américains qui l'ont interrogée est sans doute moins étonnant que le fait qu'il n'en soit pas question dans Polaire par elle-même. Car il est conce-vable que William Hammerstein lui ait demandé de n'en rien faire, pour ne pas nuire au sensationnalisme de la campagne publicitaire qu'il avait orchestrée avant son arrivée. Car parler de son premier séjour à New York aurait atténué le caractère exceptionnel de ce qui n'était en réalité que son second séjour dans cette ville.

C'est donc au Protor's Pleasure Palace à New York, le (lundi) 7 octobre 1895 que Polaire a chanté pour la première fois sur une scène américaine. La salle, située 58ème rue-Est entre la Troisième Avenue et Lexington Avenue, avait été inaugurée un mois plus tôt, le 2 septembre 1895 (le jour de la Fête du Travail).

Le Protor's
, aux dimensions "colossales", avait nécessité, de la part de son directeur, Frederick Freeman Proctor, un investissement d'un million de dollars et pouvait, selon The Daily Times du 10 octobre 1895, « rivaliser sur tous les plans avec les grands music-halls de Londres ».

Le New-York Daily Tribune avait annoncé la veille que
« [les] débuts américains de Mlle. Polaire » auraient lieu le lendemain. Et que jusque-là elle n'avait été engagée qu'un fois pour se produire à l'étranger, à Saint-Pétersbourg.

New-York Daily Tribune – 6 octobre 1895

New-York Daily Tribune6 octobre 1895

« Les débuts américains de Mlle. Polaire auront lieu demain. On dit qu'elle a beaucoup de charme. Jusque-là, elle n'avait été en-gagée qu'une fois pour se produire en dehors de Paris, et c'était à Saint-Pétersbourg. »

Un mois plus tard, le New-York Times, dans son édition datée du dimanche 3 novembre 1895, écrit qu'un certain nombre d'artistes, dont « Mlle. Polaire, qui doit bientôt retourner aux Folies Bergères, à Paris » resteront à l'affiche du Protor's Pleasure Palace pour la semaine (soit, probablement, jusqu'au samedi 9 novembre). Polaire y aura donc chanté pendant quatre semaines.

Mais Polaire ne rentre pas à Paris et le
New-York Times du 10 novembre 1895 nous apprend qu'elle chante ensuite au Proctor's Theatre :

The New-York Times - 10 novembre 1895

Proctor's Theatre – « Avec Mlle. Polaire, la piquante parisienne, Billie Barlowe, la britannique et Maud Raymond, la new-yorkaise, le public du Proctor's Theatre, dans la vingt-troisième rue Ouest trouvera cette semaine trois genres contrastés de chanteuses de music-hall, chacune en étant représentative à sa manière. »

Le Proctor's Theatre en 1893

Le Proctor's Theatre en 1893Entrée située
141
Ouest 23ème Rue près de la Sixième Avenue

Polaire n'y chante qu'une semaine car le New-York Times daté du 17 novembre nous apprend qu'elle va chanter la semaine suivante (à partir du 18) au Koster & Bial's. Nous avons d'ailleurs trouvé deux petites publicités publiées dans deux numéros du quotidien The Sun les 17 et 24 novembre 1895 sur lesquelles on voit apparaître le nom de Polaire (Mlle. Polaire sur la première et Polaire sur la seconde).

Publicité parue dans The Sun – 17 novembre 1895

Publicité parue dans The Sun17 novembre 1895

Publicité parue dans The Sun – 24 novembre 1895

Publicité parue dans The Sun24 novembre 1895

La dernière mention de Polaire dans un quotidien américain daté de 1895 que nous ayons trouvée est une publicité publiée dans le New-York Daily Tribune du 26 novembre 1895. Polaire semble donc n'avoir chanté que deux semaines au Koster & Bial's, sans doute jusqu'au 30 novembre 1895. Et l'on peut penser qu'elle est rentrée en France début décembre.

Son séjour à New York aura duré pratiquement deux mois.


L'intégralité de ce site (textes et images numériques) est © www.polaire-1900.com 2006-2016